Comparisons

WellSaid Labs Alternatives for Teams and Creators

WellSaid Labs alternatives for teams and creators: WellSaid's 2026 plans and cost per minute, plus options compared on pricing, cloning and commercial use.

9 min read
By OndaLabs Team

WellSaid Labs is an English-focused voice tool priced by downloaded minutes. As of October 2026, Starter costs $19 a month, or $10 a month billed annually, for 20 downloaded minutes a month. Look at alternatives for per-character pricing, more languages on a lower plan, or voice cloning.

WellSaid Labs plans and pricing in 2026

WellSaid's pricing page lists four paid tiers and a free trial. The company says pricing is for new customers. Existing customers on plans that are not listed should contact support.

| Plan | Price | Included downloaded minutes | Notes | |---|---|---|---| | Free trial | $0 | 3 a month | One seat, no card, no commercial rights | | Starter | $19 a month, or $10 a month billed annually ($120 a year) | 20 a month (240 a year) | English voices, commercial rights | | Pro | $49 a month, or $33 a month billed annually ($396 a year) | 180 a month (2,160 a year) | English voices, commercial rights | | Business | $160 per user, billed annually ($1,920 a year) | 2,880 a year per user | Team workspace, up to 5 seats | | Enterprise | Custom | Custom | All languages, translation, SSO, SOC 2 reports |

The page also shows "Save 47%" for annual Starter and "Save 33%" for annual Pro. The full pricing details are on WellSaid's AI voice pricing page.

What a WellSaid minute costs

WellSaid defines a downloaded minute as "minutes of finished audio you download." Generation on paid plans is unlimited and does not count against your minutes. Unused minutes do not roll over, and they reset each billing cycle. If you need more, you can upgrade or buy add-on minutes in its studio.

We divided each plan's price by its included minutes to get a rough cost per downloaded minute. This is our arithmetic, not a WellSaid figure.

| Plan and billing | Price per month | Downloaded minutes per month | Cost per downloaded minute | |---|---|---|---| | Starter, billed annually | $10 | 20 | $0.50 | | Starter, billed monthly | $19 | 20 | $0.95 | | Pro, billed annually | $33 | 180 | About $0.18 | | Pro, billed monthly | $49 | 180 | About $0.27 | | Business, billed annually | $160 per user | 240 per user | About $0.67 |

Business includes a team workspace, and its figure is per user.

Where WellSaid is strong and where it limits you

WellSaid is built for finished narration. All paid plans include full commercial usage rights, and the free trial has none. Those are the main reasons teams choose it.

The limits are worth checking before you commit:

  • English on most tiers. Starter, Pro and Business include all English voices. The pricing FAQ names languages such as Spanish, French, German and Japanese only on Enterprise.
  • Languages on the home page. The home page claims "50+ languages and accents," but the pricing page offers non-English voices only on Enterprise. Do not assume the home page claim applies to your plan.
  • Minute caps. Unused minutes expire at the end of each cycle, so irregular projects can waste money.
  • Custom voices. WellSaid sells custom "Voice Avatars," but its pricing page does not list custom voice prices, and the product page returned an error when we checked. Ask sales for the price and the recording requirement.
  • Vendor evidence. One WellSaid case study says a custom avatar cut one academy's voiceover work from 3.5 hours to 90 minutes. That is a vendor claim from an undated page.

For teams that need security reviews, WellSaid's FAQ says the company is "SOC2 Type 2 certified and GDPR-compliant." The table lists SOC 2 reports only on Enterprise, so ask which documents you will receive.

WellSaid Labs alternatives compared

The table below uses published prices from each vendor's pricing page as of October 17, 2026. Each row uses a different pricing basis, so read the basis column first.

| Tool | Pricing basis | Entry price (listed) | Cloning | Commercial rights | |---|---|---|---|---| | Cartesia | 1 credit = 1 character | Pro: $5 a month for 100,000 credits | Instant cloning on Pro | Not stated on the pages we read | | Inworld | Per 1M characters | $25 per 1M on demand (Realtime TTS-2) | Free, from 3 to 30 seconds of audio | Not stated on the page | | Fish Audio | Credits in the app, bytes in the API | Plus: $11 a month (list $15), 250,000 credits | 10 private voices and 1 professional voice on Plus | Free-plan terms conflict on the page | | ElevenLabs | Credits by plan | Pro: $99 a month, 600,000 credits | Not compared here | Not compared here |

The ElevenLabs page shows conflicting Starter and Creator prices, so we list only its higher tiers. Scale is $299 with 3 workspace seats and 1.8 million credits. Business is $990 with 10 seats and 6 million credits.

Which alternative fits which job

  • Teams that need seats. WellSaid Business includes up to 5 seats at $160 per user. ElevenLabs' Scale and Business plans list 3 and 10 seats, respectively, at higher prices. Compare what each team member will actually use.
  • Creators making many short clips. A per-character meter fits variable volume better than a monthly minute pool. Cartesia Pro and Fish Audio's Plus plan both use credits, and OndaLabs Starter also uses a credit pool.
  • Developers. Cartesia, Inworld, Fish Audio and ElevenLabs all publish API prices. WellSaid offers a 7-day API trial, but its pages list no API prices or limits.
  • Budget-first buyers. Read the unit on each price before comparing. A $5 plan with 100,000 credits and a $15 per million figure are not the same kind of price.

Alternatives to check carefully before you commit

Some names on alternative lists have changed recently:

  • Resemble AI said on August 13, 2026 that it is not taking new customers for voice generation. It is no longer a fit for a new voice buyer.
  • Hume AI is ending access to its TTS API on November 13, 2026. Do not start a new project on it.
  • Cartesia's older models stop working after October 20, 2026. If your code calls sonic-2 or sonic-turbo, move it to sonic-3.6. Our Cartesia Sonic explainer covers the model timeline.

If you are moving away from PlayHT as well, our PlayHT alternatives guide covers its shutdown in more detail.

Where OndaLabs fits

OndaLabs prices its plans in credits, not downloaded minutes. Onda Lite uses 1 credit per character and Onda Flash uses 1.5, so the meter tracks the text you send. Commercial use is included on Starter, which costs $9 a month.

OndaLabs has 30 prebuilt voices that can be used in every supported language, and its language pages cover 37 languages. Two-speaker dialogue is available for scripts with two parts, and speech to text costs 50 credits per minute if you need to transcribe a recording before you rewrite it.

We do not claim that OndaLabs voices match WellSaid's quality. You can compare plans and credit costs on the pricing page and try text to speech on a free plan to judge the output yourself.

Frequently asked questions

How much does WellSaid Labs cost in 2026?

As of October 2026, WellSaid's published prices are $19 a month for Starter, $49 a month for Pro and $160 per user a month for Business, billed annually. Annual billing lowers the Starter price to $10 a month and the Pro price to $33 a month. Enterprise is custom priced.

Does WellSaid Labs have a free plan?

Yes, a free trial gives 3 downloaded minutes a month, with one seat and no card required. The free trial includes curated voice actors and no commercial rights. Check the trial terms before you use the audio in a paid project.

Can WellSaid clone my voice?

WellSaid sells custom "Voice Avatars," but its pricing page does not list custom voice prices, and the product page returned an error when we checked. Its older blog says a voice should only be recreated with explicit consent. Ask sales for the price, the recording requirement and the timeline before you plan around it.

What counts as a downloaded minute at WellSaid?

A downloaded minute is a minute of finished audio that you download. Generating audio on paid plans is unlimited and does not count. Unused minutes do not roll over, and they reset each billing cycle.

Can I use WellSaid audio commercially?

All paid WellSaid plans include full commercial usage rights, according to the pricing page. The free trial does not include commercial rights. If you use an alternative, read its terms, because several vendors do not state commercial rights on their pricing pages.

Does WellSaid support languages other than English?

Starter, Pro and Business include English voices. The pricing FAQ lists languages such as Spanish, French, Japanese and Mandarin under Enterprise, which also includes translation. If you need non-English voices on a lower plan, compare the language list of each alternative before you buy.